The Council on Higher Education (CHE) as the Quality Council for higher education is, among other things, responsible for the quality assurance of the qualifications on its sub-framework, the Higher Education Qualifications Sub-Framework (HEQSF), which it discharges through the Higher Education Quality Committee (HEQC). South Africa has 26 public universities, of which there are 23 that currently offer doctoral qualifications.

There are also five private institutions in South Africa which offer doctoral qualifications.

Click here to view the Council for Higher  Education (CHE) Doctoral Degrees National Report>